World of 1950s

So as I promised my readers, that every alternate day (of this week and coming week) I will be posting on alternate day basis, so today I’m going to talk about the work which I had got during my 2 weeks break from Uni. basically its the reading week for the coming Semester. I’m here to talk about one of the task allotted to us, we had to choose a fashion era/movement and make a digital moodboard for the same. So after analyzing the eras and movements, I opted to work on the 1950s. So why did I choose 1950s as my inspiration to work on? 

My favorite fashion icons Audrey Hepburn and Marilyn Monroe are from the 50s, to understand more about them I chose 1950s, other than that, I really liked how in the 1950s there were feminine and romantic silhouettes, full circle skirts, fitted pencil skirts, A-line shapes. The best fashion designers of the time were present then, having Dior, Chanel (Having Chanel’s signature suit), Hubert De Givenchy and Balenciaga (Chemise and Sheath dress). 

1950s also the emergence of teen subculture. Influenced by rockabilly music and stars like Elvis, Pompadour hair, oversized blazers, leather jackets and Hawaiian skirts were copied by men around the globe.

Marilyn Monroe

Marilyn Monroe

1950s

1950s

Elvis Presley

Elvis Presley

Audrey Hepburn

Audrey Hepburn

I will be updating about the moodboard tomorrow, possibly putting all the elements of 1950s in the moodboard!

Leave a Reply

